Tuesday, October 9, 2007

Reading

Okay I seriously think I need to read more. That being said I am reading one book right now and I have another in the queue but still I need to read more. I am currently reading John Grisham's The Innocent Man
I picked up the book just thinking it would be an easy read - and not about football. I made that mistake with John Grisham once before - don't assume all of his books are about lawyers - they aren't. So, I flipped through it making sure it wasn't about highschool football and when satisfied I purchased it. I get home and begin reading and thinking to myself how all over the place the book is. Trying to piece together which character goes with which murder etc, etc. Then 1/2 way through the book there are pictures. How odd to have actual photographs in a book. Then the lightbulb clicks on and I flip the book over and see what I was missing. This is his first work of NON FICTION. I am enjoying it just wish I would have caught on that the reason it was written the way it was is because it is telling a true story.

My next book is by Nicholas Sparks - I'm pretty sure it's pure fiction but I better go read the back again.

10 comments:

Moving Mama said...

Oh - I love both of these authors. Which Nicholas Sparks book are you going to read? I'm loving reading short stories right now. Have you ever read any of David Sadaris's stuff?

Christine said...

John Grisham is one of my favorite authors I'm going to need to pick this one up. It sounds like I'd really enjoy reading it.
I've not read anything by Nicholas Spark, I'll have to check out his writing.

AnGlOpHiLe FoOtBaLl FaNaTiC said...

You should think about doing the fall reading challenge. It'll force to you put down the blogs & pick up the books. I think the official site is at callapidderdays.

Jen said...

My favorite Grisham book is A Painted House, but I have liked everything of his I've read. I haven't read this particular one, I'll have to add it to my list.

lackrik said...

I haven't read that one yet either. Unless it's a book that can be read in about 2 minutes while in the bathroom......

Grisham is my fav though!

alisonwonderland said...

i started The Innocent Man when it first came out but i just couldn't get into it. the other of his books that i couldn't get into was A Painted House - but if jen liked it, maybe i'll give it another try. i did love Bleachers - the football one! :o)

i'm curious about the Nicholas Sparks too - which one? i've read many of his.

I'm pretty sure it's pure fiction but I better go read the back again. LOL!

did you ever say if you enjoyed The Memory Keeper's Daughter? i just finished The Thirteenth Tale, which i think you told me was written by a woman who lives nearby? it was great!

okay, that's enough rambling - you get me talking about books and i can't shut up ... :o)

Mom not Mum said...

The Nicholas Sparks book is Choices. I did finish The Memory Keeper's Daughter and loved it and my local library NEVER got The Thirteenth Tale in.

Liliana said...

If you are enjoying reading John Grisham, i would also suggest Mark Gimenez ... The Colour of Law

If you want, i have the complete list of John Grisham's books on http://alongthedays.blogspot.com

Barbara's Journey Toward Justice said...

If you all like legal thrillers, Fans of John Grisham and The book The Innocent Man. My blog Barbara's Journey Toward Justice has it all. John Grisham's real life legal thriller his lawsuit over his book The Innocent Man Along with the other innocent man in Grisham's book, Dennis Fritz and his lawsuit of his book called Journey Toward Justice. The DA Bill Peterson is suing The Innocent Man Dennis Fritz along with John Grisham for emotional distress over both books. You can read more on blog, Barbara's Journey Toward Justice.

Mom not Mum said...

Wow!